Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Random Applications Disappear

I'm a Mac consultant, and have a client that had Mail disappear from the applications folder
At first I didn't believe the client, and thought it was user error, and replaced missing application. But then further applications started disappearing as well - Safari/iChat/Logic

I've checked the drive - both DU and Disk Warrior - all ok - also repair permission for good measure
I looked at log - nothing indicating application removal or deletion

Next I've resored the application and applied combo update - worked for a while and more applications disappear - Mail/Safari

I've archived and installed - worked for a while - and like clock work it happened again

Not only that - it happened on his Laptop as well.

At the time there was no indication on the discussion boards about it, but now there seem to be more of this - anyone had a solution?

Various Macs, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Sep 12, 2009 1:38 AM

14 replies

Sep 12, 2009 8:00 PM in response to Eran Kendler

Yeah, what is the deal with this? Why are applications disappearing? This seems like a pretty serious problem. I have had it happen once so far, but am worried that after all the work to restore it is going to happen again, so I am making copies of the missing apps and putting them in folders. So far, it has affected Safari, Mail, iChat and FireFox.

Oct 3, 2009 12:21 AM in response to Eran Kendler