Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Clean Install of Snow Leopard

Hello,

I am new to mac. I just bought my macbook pro a month ago and purchased SL for $10. I want to do a clean install of SL but am unable to find out how to accomplish this task. Can anyone help me?

Thanks

Macbook Pro 15'', Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Sep 13, 2009 1:14 PM

14 replies

Sep 13, 2009 1:23 PM in response to diego898

diego898 wrote:
Hello,

I am new to mac. I just bought my macbook pro a month ago and purchased SL for $10. I want to do a clean install of SL

what do you mean by a clean install? do you mean an erase and install?
and why do you want to do this? is something wrong with your system? i don't think it's possible with a drop-in disk like yours as it checks to see if leopard is present before it allows you to proceed.
with a regular Snow leopard DVd to do an erase and install you boot from the SL dvd and erase your hard drive with disk utility. then quit disk utility and proceed with the install. but as i said, I don't think a drop in DVd will let you do this as it will most likely refuse to install on en empty drive. at least that's how it worked with leopard drop-in DVDs. I'm not certain about Snow leopard ones but I've seen posts indicating that they work in the same way.

but am unable to find out how to accomplish this task. Can anyone help me?

Thanks

Sep 13, 2009 1:54 PM in response to diego898

diego898 wrote:
Well I was able to boot from it and select the disk utility and see that I am able to erase my drive. However, I wasnt sure if this is the accepted way of doing it. Why am I not just able to select that option right from the installer?

this is the new way to do an erase and install. in part it was done to prevent people from choosing this option accidentally not fully understanding the consequences.

Sep 13, 2009 2:23 PM in response to diego898

diego898 wrote: