7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 12, 2010 1:54 PM by wowimadog
kristinthegreat Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
I just got a new computer and I used the migration assistant to send all my information to it from my old computer.

When I went to use Time Machine, I was prompted with this:

"Would you like to reuse the back up "/Volumes/Mappy Days/Backups.backupdb/mac" with this computer?

The back up was created on a different computer. If you reuse this back up it can no longer be used by the original computer."

And then I was given the options.

Do Not Backup Now
Create New Backup
Reuse Backup

I was under the impression that when I migrated everything I was just cloning all my information and I don't want to lose my all of my backups just because I got a new computer.

Ideally I just want time machine to use my new computer where my old computer left off and because it has all the same information, I want it to share the old back ups as well.

If I "reuse the back up" will I still have access to all the back ups I made on my old computer or will it just start anew and empty out my external hard drive of everything I have been saving? I am thinking if I "create new" then it will delete everything. But "reuse" makes it sound like I will lose something as well....when I just want to continue using it where it left off.

I am giving my old computer away so I don't have to worry about using it again.

Macbook Pro 13inch, Mac OS X (10.6)
  • V.K. Level 9 Level 9 (56,130 points)

    If I "reuse the back up" will I still have access to all the back ups I made on my old computer or will it just start anew and empty out my external hard drive of everything I have been saving? I am thinking if I "create new" then it will delete everything. But "reuse" makes it sound like I will lose something as well....when I just want to continue using it where it left off.

    this is a new feature in snow leopard. in leopard you had no choice but to start a new backup sequence on the new computer. it's clear from the description that if you choose "reuse old backups" it will preserve the old backups and you will have access to them. However, it will still make a full system backup on the first run which will take a lot of space on the backup drive.

    I am giving my old computer away so I don't have to worry about using it again.
  • Barabas2005 Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    I have the same thing going on as the topic starter. I bought the new iMac and migrated everything from my Macbook Pro. I use a Drobo drive on the iMac (FW800) to store the Time Machine backup. The Macbook Pro uses the same Drobo for its Time Machine backups via a network connection.

    The backup of the iMac is stored in a "Backups.backupdb" folder on the Drobo. The backup of the Macbook Pro is stored in a sparsebundle disk image. Every time the iMac wants to update the Time Machine backup, this "Would you like to reuse the backup ... " message pops up. If I choose "Create New Backup", Time Machine will continue updating its own backup file like normal.

    How can I prevent this message from popping up every time? I just want to have the iMac and Macbook Pro keep track of their own backups on the Drobo drive.
  • albertoPeralta Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    I had a similar problem. I have a time machine, an old macbook, and i just bought a new mac book pro. I got the same pop up menu and i chose the ''reuse'' option assuming that what this will do is take off from where my old mac book was and continue backing up. But after a couple of minutes another pop up windows says that the operation couldnt be done because the back up disk is already in used. Do i have to disable my old macbook from the time capsule? If so, how do i do that?

    Thank you.
  • adupont Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    I have the exact same problem as Barabas2005. Even though my Mac Pro created it's own original backups.backupdb folder, after my iMac which connects wirelessly created a sparsebundle, when my Mac Pro backs up, I get the window asking if I would like to reuse the sparsebundle. When I choose "Create New Backup", Time Machine backs up to the correct backups.backupdb folder.

    Why would the Mac Pro want to use a sparsebundle that it has no linkage to, when there is backups.backupdb folder that it created sitting there?
  • Old ways Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    I have the same exact issues as kristenthegreat. I used time-machine to restore data to the new iMac running snow leopard. I am afraid to do anything yet.
  • Pondini Level 8 Level 8 (38,720 points)
    V.K.'s post should make it clear.

    If not, see #B5 in the Time Machine - Troubleshooting *User Tip,* also at the top of this forum.

    If you still have a question, please tell us just what it is.
  • wowimadog Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    i chose to "create new backup" instead of choosing "reuse backup," but now i am getting an error message that the backup is too large. what are my options now that i've made the wrong selection?