Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Bigtime Problems With Volume Mounts

Dear kind, helpful, charitable, community of Apple users,

I'm been spinning my wheels on this for a week now and I'm totally stuck. I'm sufficiently desperate that I thought about offering a cash bounty via PayPal. (But I can't figure out an equitable way to do that so anyone who can help with this will win a virtual $1 "admin buck" and my undying gratitude.)

Here's what I'm trying to do: I have a Mac Mini running 10.6 server. I also have a 1T external USB hard drive. I want to permanently mount this external hard drive at /Users, so all user accounts will live on the external drive. I've been a sysadmin for 20 years, dabbling in Unix the whole time, and this seems to me like it should be a no-brainer.

Here's what I've tried: I added this line to /etc/fstab using vifs:

UUID=BDFE6D09-7483-3479-B37F-0BE15F9CBFBB /Users hfs rw

I've also tried a couple of variations, using different options (like LABEL and the volume label instead of the UUID, as well as explicit numeric values for fs_freq and fs_passno in the fifth and sixth fields. Regardless, when I run 'mount -av' I get:

GetMasterBlock: Error 2 opening UUID=BDFE6D09-7483-3479-B37F-0BE15F9CBFBB
mount_hfs: No such file or directory
mount: exec /System/Library/Filesystems/url.fs/Contents/Resources/mount_url for
/Network/Servers: No such file or directory

This is nonsense because the drive itself is formatted and partitioned and attached and on and visible in Disk Utility (though not mounted), and the /Users directory exists on the root. In fact, if I execute the following:

mount_hfs /dev/disk2s3 /Users