Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New 27-inch iMac. Dual Core or Quad Core.

Hi all,
this is my first post!

Anyway,

I'm planning on purchasing the new 27 inch iMac.

I have two options, which is what processor to get, the rest of the components will be exactly the same.

*Option 1:*
27 inch iMac
-3.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
-8GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 4x2GB
-2TB Serial ATA Drive
-ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB

Price: AU$ 3,607.01

*Option 2:*
27 inch iMac
-2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
-8GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 4x2GB
-2TB Serial ATA Drive
-ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB

Price: AU$ 3,797.01

I'm a semi-professional photographer looking to go fully pro. So, i will mainly be using Photoshop CS4, Lightroom (both open at same time), and Final Cut Pro for editing small clips (max 25mins).

I will use it for everything else also, but i just need it to function as a photography tool, and be fast.

Also, if quad core is the better option, would the 2.8ghz i7 be much better than the 2.66ghz i5?

Thanks in advance,
P.S. this is my first venture into Mac territory.

Posted on Oct 23, 2009 4:16 PM

18 replies

Oct 27, 2009 9:43 AM in response to Ethan Slade

It's true that Photoshop CS4 doesn't really make effective use of multiple cores, nor is it 64 bit.

But is this going to be the last version of PS you're going to use for the next 3-5 years (projected lifespan of your iMac)? You won't upgrade to CS5 or CS6? If not, then by all means get the dual core. But I would wager in the next revision or two you'll get better multi-core support, so while it wouldn't benefit you with the current version of PS, it certainly would for future versions. Just something to think about...

Message was edited by: UCLAMacConvert

Oct 28, 2009 2:03 AM in response to Ethan Slade