3 Replies Latest reply: Nov 3, 2009 10:35 PM by Ingo2711
kutsyy Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
I updated OS on my computer (to Windows 7 64bit), and had to reinstall all application including iTunes. I copied over

C:\Users\$user$\Music\iTunes
C:\Users\$user$\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\iTunes

folders.

But now if I am trying to sinc my iphone, only basics are sinced. If I try to select say "Sync Applications" I am getting "All existing application on the iPhone will be replaced...". Same goes for music/videos/etc...

I tried to call Apple support, but it was completely useless. Does anyone know how to make iPhone to sync with iTunes and keep all apps the way they are?

Thanks,

Vadim

Message was edited by: kutsyy

iPhone, iPhone OS 3.1.2
  • Ingo2711 Level 7 Level 7 (20,480 points)
    Welcome to the discussions,
    Make sure your computer is authorized in itunes, disable autosync in itunes, connect your phone, right click on it in the device list and choose "transfer purchases". Back up manually the same way choosing "backup". See what's included in a backup here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1766
    When you sync for the first time, all media content will be erased from your phone. You can restore from your manual backup afterwards. Make sure to have at least one contact and event set up on your computer to be able to merge your data during the first sync.
  • kutsyy Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    "When you sync for the first time, all media content will be erased from your phone."

    So this would mean that all app settings will be erased, and I would have to start from the beginning.

    Seems like completely not thought through process. Is there a way to keep apps without reinstalling them?

    PS: all media is transferred to new iTune install, it is not an issue. Issue is setting up sync on the new iTune install.
  • Ingo2711 Level 7 Level 7 (20,480 points)
    The settings and data of apps are stored in the backup of the phone made in itunes. After your phone got erased you can use the manual backup you made to restore it. All your settings will be copied back to the phone. See also Backing up and restoring: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1414