6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 19, 2009 9:35 AM by Paul Vail
avideditor Level 2 Level 2 (150 points)
Can I host multiple domain name based email accounts from a single server? (ie. maildomain1.com and maildomain2.com, both with multiple accounts for each domain)

I would be using the mac mini server using a single static ip address.

question is basic, I am a server noob. thanks in advance.

2 x 3.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 8 GB 800 MHz, Mac OS X (10.6.1), Kona 3, XServe RAID, FCP 7 suite
  • Mark Aman Level 2 Level 2 (330 points)
    Yes you can host multiple domains for both web and mail services.
    I am currently hosting 5 domains.
  • JT Harvey Jr. Level 2 Level 2 (345 points)
    Yes, I am doing it with 10 domains - and quite happy
  • avideditor Level 2 Level 2 (150 points)
    I'd like to post a follow up question:

I might need to host 2 lightly used web sites and email with push to smart phone services. I also need to deploy a "media server" for home use and I am considering using the same mini server to do all of the above. The media server would consist of an iTunes library streaming audio and video content to a pair of laptops over 802.11n, and content to an Apple TV via Gigibit Ethernet, via an Airport Extreme Base Station router.

Currently I have the same media server as a NAS setup using the Airport and a USB connection to a Lacie drive that hold the media. I would rather connect the Lacie via FW 800 to the mini server and serve the volume that way.
    ?
    Am I asking for problems with this scenario? Is there much benefit? Any advice? I am trying to accomplish several things with 1 hardware purchase.

Thanks in advance.
  • JT Harvey Jr. Level 2 Level 2 (345 points)
    It all depends.

Not to be funny, but depending on how much each of the functions is used and how much streaming is being done.