Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Have I been hacked?

Yesterday I rebooted my system and immediately after logging in to a non-admin account, I was prompted for admin credentials by the loginwindow app to make a change to system preferences. I am very suspicious because I had not yet launched any apps at all. I had installed a couple of apps before the last reboot (Flash and Adium), but it does not appear that either was adding anything to the system preferences, let alone anything that would change them after the reboot, does anyone have any ideas what would cause this other than a hack? I'm new to OS X and the message about loginwindow changing my preferences was totally uninformative about what the actual change was and I can't seem to find any info about how to track this down this anywhere.

iMac 27 i7, Mac OS X (10.6.2), 16GB/2TB Model

Posted on Nov 26, 2009 7:29 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 26, 2009 7:41 AM

You haven't been hacked. Some programs prefer to install support files or login items in a user's account instead of in a system area. I think Adium does this. The only way to do this is to install the files when the application runs.
6 replies

Nov 26, 2009 7:46 AM in response to etresoft

Thanks for the help & attention! Adium did not appear to be running at the time though, and the account was the same one that I had been logged into when I installed it in the first place. (And I think I may actually been asked for admin login credentials at install time.) Also, Adium is not set up as a login item on the machine. Is there some way to tell what system preferences were altered? And why would the requesting app show up as loginwindow rather than Adium if Adium were making the changes? Would it have created a one time login item that then removed itself or something?

Nov 26, 2009 8:05 AM in response to etresoft

Yeah, I looked at them and found the following: