Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Good GIgabit Router

I work in a video facility where we transfer huge files from our Xserve to mac, PC and Linuix. We are setting up a gigabit network and we need to purchase a Router that will handle our gig e needs. We have two PC, a linux box and 5 macs that are going to be on the network. They all have gig-e network cards. I am a newbie to all of this, and I was wondering what type of router can handle all this traffic? Anyone have any advice? We do NOT want wireless due to a variety of reasons, and all our computers can handle wired gig-e. I would like the router to handle jumbo packets and it needs to be able to broadcast IP numbers (the Xserve can do DHCP but it really screws up up other networks so if the router can handle it it would make life easier) Thanks.

Mark

Xserve, Mac OS X (10.5.5)

Posted on Nov 30, 2009 7:15 AM

7 replies

Nov 30, 2009 7:56 AM in response to Video Editor1

You need to decide if you want cheap and simple, or more complex and more flexible and more expensive.

The former is an unmanaged Gigabit Ethernet (GbE) switch, and most any reputable vendor offers those for somewhere between US$50 and US$100, depending on the vendor and the numbers of ports. You can spend a little more for uplinks and other features, and for more ports.

Managed switches tend to be US$250 to, um, more expensive. You'll want managed GbE, which is more expensive than the widespread managed Fast Ethernet switches. And be careful if you do go managed, as many of the vendors include one or two gigabit ports, and the switch then shows up in searches for gigabit switches; most of the ports on these switches are Fast Ethernet and not GbE.