You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

(Error code -36)

I just got my new IMac a few days ago. I spent the last two days transferring over all of my files...I'm a graphic design student and have quite a few so it was a long process. Everything transferred fine and I've been working on projects (in InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop) with my new computer, backing things up on my external hard drive like I always do. Earlier today, when attempting to back up some work, the following message appeared:

The Finder can’t complete the operation because some data in “FILE NAME” can’t be read or written.
(Error code -36)

It only did it this one time and I just didn't really think anything of it. But now it's doing it with every file on my computer. I can take files off of my external hard drive and put them on the IMac but the computer won't let me transfer anything off. That message just appears. I plugged my external hard drive back into my macbook to see if it would happen with that as well and it didn't. I was able to transfer files onto and off my laptop.

This is really stressing me out. These design projects are extremely important. And I just got this computer...so I'm really hoping there isn't something wrong with it...or all of my files. Does anyone have any idea what could be the problem?

IMac G5, Mac OS X (10.6.2)

Posted on Dec 19, 2009 12:15 AM

8 replies

Dec 19, 2009 1:19 AM in response to JacquieNicole