Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Getting ROKU Box to Connect to Local Network

Greetings,

OK, so I know this is about a 3rd party device, but 1st, I'm a networking novice and, 2nd, ROKU support was ZERO help. (suggested I call Apple!)

If anyone is successfully using a ROKU streaming box through an Airport Extreme connection, I could use some help.

My airport extreme is setup with a WPA2 Personal password. During the ROKU setup, I entered the airport network name, along with my password (13 digit). ROKU box successfully connected to my wireless network (so it says) but fails to connect to my "local network".

ROKU support says this is because I'm using WPA2 rather than WEP password. I was under the impression that the WPA2 password is more robust, and also it's required when using my work laptop to get into WVPN at the office.

I'm concerned that if I change the WPA2 setup, the computers in the house (3) will no longer have access through the airport.

Hope that makes sense - the ROKU site does say the airport extreme base station is a supported device.

*If I use the "MAC Address Access Control: Local" feature under the access tab in the Airport utility, and add the ROKU MAC address, will I have to also add all the other computers MAC addresses as well? *

Any help appreciated!

JL

iMac 24", 3.06 Ghz, 4GB SDRAM, Mac OS X (10.5.5), Maxtor 300GB external drive, iPhone 3G

Posted on Dec 22, 2009 5:07 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 22, 2009 6:40 PM

ROKU support says this is because I'm using WPA2 rather than WEP password. I was under the impression that the WPA2 password is more robust, and also it's required when using my work laptop to get into WVPN at the office.