Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Camera Help

Im just getting started with FCP and need to graduate to a more professional camera. I dont know the AV world that well so thought could ask here...
I am working for a small health clinic looking to do good quality videos for marketing mainly placed on video host websites.
We dont have a huge budget (around $1000) but Ive been told the Canon XM2 second hand is a good buy.
One thing is - I dont know about HD. Would and HD camera be better and which one? Apart from screen size does it give better quality video than an hgih quality SD camera like the XM2?

I know its super noob style questions - if there is a good link for me to read up do let me know.

Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.4.9)

Posted on Jan 5, 2010 6:23 AM

15 replies

Jan 5, 2010 7:09 AM in response to SWAN909808

Im just getting started with FCP and need to graduate to a more professional camera.

Are you producing talking head videos or hand held run and gun?

Since you suggest you are already doing this, how does your current camera fail you?

Do you simply want to make better images? That happens when you employ good lighting, a solid tripod and someone who knows how to use the tools at hand.

If all those are in place, are you looking for a camera where you have manual control over the iris, white balance, focal depth, video gain as well as the capability to add XLR microphones? If so, then your $1000 is way under budgeted.