If you have wiped the drive, (zero-overwritten & reformatted) then go and
install a new system, +quit the Installer prior to the personalization+ section;
then there is no need to 'deauthorize this computer' from iTunes store.
In fact, the only reference to the computer would be, as you mentioned,
in the other records to the owned computers listed as 'authorized' in the
iTunes store itself. Of course, you covered that in a way; but the actual
computer without any online records within it, which has been wiped,
would not be able to reconnect to the iTunes store & the former account.
If the computer had been totally restored from a fully erased hard disk
drive with a new installation of the prospective OS X version, and then
the computer minimally personalized to the point where further OS X
updates to the 10.4 system were done, so it has 10.4.11, all Java update,
last QuickTime, last Security Update, recent browser(s), Flash/Shockwave;
and maybe a copy of OnyX by Titanium Software; etc.
Then, there's a way to have the computer re-run the Setup, so the first install-
user account wiped out; and a new first-run on restart Setup will commence
when the new owner gets the computer home and starts it up.
Except, the computer would already have all available updates installed;
yet would be non-personalized and act like a new computer on first start.
This information, using Terminal or other super-user access, has been
noted and detailed elsewhere in the Apple Support Discussions. And this
is what I was referring to in an earlier post; it removes all traces of prior
ownership and does allow the new owner to not have to figure out how
to go through and update the recent the OS X on an old OS. For some
new users of Mac OS X, they are too lost to even get into this process.
Anyway, hopefully you've found satisfactory results in the paths available
to prepare the computer for a second owner, so their experience is as
good as it can be without any uncharacteristic issues for a new owner.
Good luck & happy computing! 🙂