Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

missing itunes music library xml... replace? repair?

i've been rocking itunes on an external hd for a few years. at some point something happened to my itunes music library xml and it no longer exists. it doesn't appear in a search and iConcerCal (itunes friendly app) can't locate it.

iTunes functions fine and udpates fine. but it appears i'm going to be hampered with outboard applications.

is there some way for me to fix this? even if i have to export the music library and import into a new version of itunes?

please advise.

thanks in advance for any help.

macbook pro, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Feb 4, 2010 11:15 AM

15 replies

Feb 4, 2010 12:12 PM in response to double king

If you are using the Finder's search function, use the + button next to the save button (as indicated by the mouse pointed in the picture) to expose the drop-down boxes and select "System files" and "are included". Otherwise the .xml file will not be displayed in a search.

User uploaded file

If you still can't find it, look through these articles for possible help.

How to re-create your iTunes library and playlists, http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1451

What are the iTunes library files?, http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1660

Feb 4, 2010 2:51 PM in response to Jim VanLeeuwen

Jim, thanks for the hint on the Finder search. The iTunes Music Library.xml is definitely not still in my system.

Unfortunately the links were about the Library file not the iTune Music Library.xml. There is a bit of info out there about the former; and none for the latter. I can't find any information about how to work-around; hack; re-knit the missing file.

still hunting...

Feb 4, 2010 3:26 PM in response to Jim VanLeeuwen

i saw that as a workaround for media. i'm not experiencing any trouble adding music or with the iTunes store.