3 Replies Latest reply: Mar 7, 2010 3:28 PM by FSchaeffer
arabella44 Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
Hello,

I origionaly unlocked my Iphone at work on a coworkers ituens, but did not synce any of his music etc, i just opened it. but now to sync to my ituens i get the message:

"the phone is synced to another itunes library. Do you want to erase this iphone and sync with this itunes library. .....erasing and syncing replaces the contents of this iphone with the contents of this itunes library"

'if i click erase and sync' what is removied from my i-phone? just the ipod section or all my contacts/appes etc.


i have already tried restoring my iphone and opened it though my itunes and nothing has changed.

pc, iPhone OS 3.1.3
  • Graham Outterside Level 4 Level 4 (2,910 points)
    arabella44 wrote:

    'if i click erase and sync' what is removied from my i-phone? just the ipod section or all my contacts/appes etc.


    Everything - you will end up with a blank iPhone. You have synced your phone with another computer (your coworkers) to unlock so the phone is paired with that. The backup of your phone is over on that computer.
  • Ingo2711 Level 7 Level 7 (20,490 points)
    A manual backup will save data and settings to your "new" iTunes library and transferring your purchases will copy your apps and purchased media files.
    Here's how to:
    Disable autosync in itunes, connect your phone, right click on it in the device list and choose backup.
    This will save data, pictures taken with the phone and settings to itunes. See what's included in this backup here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1766
    Transfer your purchases the same way to copy all apps and bought media from the Store to your computer. Set up at least one contact and event on your computer to be able the merge your calendars and contacts after your phone got wiped during the first sync.
    The rest of the data can be restored from the backup you made after you synced the phone.
    Restoring: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1414

    Message was edited by: Ingo2711
  • FSchaeffer Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    Hi,
    My situation seems to be a little different.
    I have an iphone that I have been automatically syncing for a while now and have recently synced photos from iphoto (by selecting certain events in the photos Tab within iTunes)

    I have also purchased some iphone apps at iTunes store and I see them backed up under the applications Tab in iTunes

    Today I decided to sync some music (by going into the Music tab and seleting a playlist) - note that I don't have any music in my iPhone.

    After selecting the playlist and the Apply button and the bottom right corner of iTunes, I get the message mentioned at this thread that my iphone is synced with another itunes library.

    I have no idea whose library this is and I find it odd, since I have been adding photos and backing it up without any problems for months now.

    What will happen if I choose Yes that that question - will it try to erase my music (which I don't have anyway) or will it erase all my iphone?

    In that case, what should I do?

    thanks