Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture organization - Projects vs Folders

I am new to Aperture. When do you create a project vs a folder and visa versa? What is the difference? How do you usually organize your photos?

For example...

- Vacations
--- Europe
---- Italy
---- France
--- Hawaii
---- Oahu
---- Maui
---- Big Island

Is this a good way to organize? In this example what should be a project vs a folder?

Thanks for your patience and insight!

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.2), NA

Posted on Mar 22, 2010 2:38 PM

11 replies

Feb 1, 2011 1:31 PM in response to WebDevGuy

Use one Library, that way all your photos are searchable at one time.

After that, there are as many ways to organise things as you want.

Personally, I have Folders for years, containing Projects. These projects then have Albums associated with them.

I also use keywords extensively and so can make albums on a Library wide basis:

I keyword on a
Who
What
Where basis (The When is in the photos's Exif metadata). I also rate the pics on a 1 - 5 star basis.

Using this system I can find pretty much find any pic in my library in a couple of seconds.

So, for example, I have a batch of pics titled 'Seattle 08' and a typical keywording might include: John, Anne, Landscape, mountain, trees, snow. With a rating included it's so very easy to find the best pics we took at Mount Rainier.

File -> New Smart Album
set it to 'All"
title contains Seattle
keyword is mountain
keyword is snow
rating is 5 stars

Or, want a chronological album of John from birth to today?

New Smart Album
Keyword is John
Set the View options to Sort By Date Ascending

Want only the best pics?
add Rating is greater than 4 stars

The best thing about this system is that it's dynamic. If I add 50 more pics of John to the Library tomorrow, as I keyword and rate them they are added to the Smart Album.