8 Replies Latest reply: Dec 18, 2013 11:55 AM by nicholefrombc
chameleongryl Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
I'm new to mac, and automator. I used the program successfully earlier this week to batch rename a large number of jpeg files. When I attempted the same action tonight I am getting the following warning/error:

The action "Make finder item names sequential" was not supplied with the required data.

If anyone could help me resolve this I would be very grateful.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.3)
  • red_menace Level 6 Level 6 (14,940 points)
    Usually that error is caused by the action not receiving any input. This can be a result of a problem with the preceding action - what are the actions in your workflow?
  • chameleongryl Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    That's it. I just want to rename the files, so that's the only action. It does ask if I want to start with a 'copy' action, but I don't want that, just to rename.

How are you getting the items to your workflow? Service? Dropping on the application? If you are using a folder action, check the setup to make sure everything is still enabled/attached.
    Here is exactly what I do:
    Open Automator
    Choose workflow
    Under the available actions, I choose Rename Finder Items, and drag it into the right window. I select the options I want (Make finder items sequential, new name, add number after name with a space, start at 1 etc).
    I open the folder that holds the photos I want to rename. I select the photo files, drag them to the automator, and once they show up I click Run. That's when I get the warning. Here is what it says in the log:
    !Make Finder Item Names Sequential completed - 1 Warning
    !The action "Make Finder Names Sequential" was not supplied with the required data.
    (checkmark) Get Specified Finder Items completed
    !Workflow completed - 1 warning

I then hit my head on the desk since I don't understand what that means, and email you.