Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Calibrating 27in iMac with Spyder 2, yellow tone.

Hello,

I've been all over the net researching trying to calibrate a 27in Imac with Spyder 2 express 2.3 software, which is what i'm using. When I try to calibrate i've been leaving the brightness at full and not changing anything else. 6500k with 2.2, and I keep getting a yellow tone. I am in a dark room.

I keep reading the LED backlighting and Glossy Screens are big problems when it comes to calibrating the 27 in imacs. I am a photographer so its important that I have accurate color, is there different settings I should try?

Thanks for any input, the yellow tone is definitely way off.

Trevor

imac 27 quad core i7, Mac OS X (10.6.3)

Posted on Apr 11, 2010 10:41 AM

7 replies

Apr 13, 2010 12:48 PM in response to trevor3324

I would encourage you to contact Colorvision, the makers of the Spyder calibrator, to try to resolve this issue.

You may need new software/hardware to properly calibrate the new LED monitor.

It has a wider gamut and needs different filters in the sensor unit to properly work.

Also, consider lowering the luminance of the monitor as it is too bright at default for digital imaging work.

Apr 19, 2010 9:59 AM in response to trevor3324

I can tell you for sure that the software that comes with spyder2 is the worst you can use in terms of color accuracy.
The calibrator itself had no problems with my 21.5'' (which uses the same panel technology and backlight) and produced absolutely fine profiles with spot-on print to screen match.
The thing is that you have to use OTHER software to lead the calibrator like ColorEyes Display or basICCal (I use the 1st). Consider downloading a demo to try before you spend your money on another sensor.