Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Get durations of audio files

I'm new to AppleScript so I'm not sure where to begin with code.

I have a bunch of audio files in a folder that I need to get the durations of. I'd prefer to not have to import all the files into iTunes.
Ideally I'd like the filename and its respective duration to be output to a default spreadsheet (I have Excel) listing the filename in one column and the duration in the other. If not, just having the filename and the duration on the same line in a text file would be workable too.
The duration would need to have the format of X:XX.

iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Apr 15, 2010 2:06 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 15, 2010 3:38 PM

I wrote this code example some time ago. Maby this could help

set aFile to choose file

tell application "Finder" to set filename to name of aFile

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to " = "

set duration to text item 2 of (do shell script "mdls -name kMDItemDurationSeconds " & quoted form of (POSIX path of aFile))

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "."

set total_seconds to text item 1 of duration

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ""

set showsec to (total_seconds as integer) mod 60

set showmin to (total_seconds as integer) div 60

display dialog filename & return & return & "Duration:" & return & showmin & " min " & showsec & " sec"

It uses the spotlight-index to read track-information via mdls (lists the metadata attributes for the specified file), so this would only work on volumes spotlight has indexed.
5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 15, 2010 3:38 PM in response to chsinclair

I wrote this code example some time ago. Maby this could help

set aFile to choose file

tell application "Finder" to set filename to name of aFile

set duration to text item 2 of (do shell script "mdls -name kMDItemDurationSeconds " & quoted form of (POSIX path of aFile))