Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Format - RAW vs JPEG vs TIFF?

I am new to Aperture and I received a Nikon D3000 for Christmas. I am NOT a professional photographer. I just take pictures of my family and places we go. I would appreciate suggestions as to what format might be best for me. Thanks.

Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz 8-core, Mac OS X (10.6.3)

Posted on Apr 23, 2010 10:18 AM

16 replies

Apr 23, 2010 10:40 AM in response to WilliamL

Hi -- welcome to the forum.

Your question is really beyond the focus of the forum, but ...

If you have any interest in photography as a craft, art, or business, shoot raw only and learn how to use Aperture to store, develop, and publish your shots. (By "publish" I mean to output in any way, be it a digital image file (raw is sensor data, it is not an image format), a print, etc.) It's not hard, and it's a skill worth having.

If your only interest is in snapshots (nothing wrong with that), shoot JPG and use iPhoto.

There are many resources on the Web for learning what raw is and how to understand it. I recommend the older Adobe whitepaper, "Understanding Digital RAW Capture", and anything you find on the sites Cambridge Color and Luminous Landscape. These are not meant to be exclusive -- there is a lot of good information out there.

http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/pdfs/understanding_digitalrawcapture.pdf
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/RAW-file-format.htm
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/

Given the good raw conversion built into Aperture, the one option I can't see using unless you have some specific need is "raw+jpeg".

Again, welcome. And good luck.

My two cents.

Apr 23, 2010 12:03 PM in response to WilliamL

This question is real easy to answer. Raw.
There are a few reasons to use jpeg but you will generally speaking get far better results from raw.