Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac's using a Windows Print Server

I am an administrator for a dual-platform school district (elementary and middle schools). We run both AD & OD, and all of our Mac's are bound to both AD & OD. Our users authenticate to Active Directory. My issue is printing from our Mac's (MacBooks to be precise). Currently, all of our PC's are printing to a Windows Print Server (Server 2003). When setting up printing on our Mac's, we use IP printing. We use IP printing because when we attempt to install printers via Windows printing, it requires authentication when printing (which I don't understand, since the users is already authenticated to the domain). The real issue is this. Because our Mac's use IP printing, the print queue is local to the machine. So, if anything impedes the print job, it pauses the printer, and in our environment, the only way to un-pause the printer and the local print queue is to log in as the local admin, clear the queue, and un-pause the printer. This is a PITA. I need to find a stable printing environment for our Mac's, and I would prefer to use our existing Windows Print Server.

Does anyone have any experience in having Mac's print to a Windows Print Server, without having the authentication issue?? I have heard of third-party products such as PaperCut, but I really don't think that's necessary for what we are trying to do.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

--Russ

17" MacBook Pro, Mac Pro, Intel Mac Mini, Mac OS X (10.6.3)

Posted on May 19, 2010 12:49 PM

2 replies

May 27, 2010 9:15 AM in response to DoomsdayInc

I am running a very similar setup to what you are trying to do. Mine is OD and the windows server (2003 64bit) is bound to the OD.

My users on both Mac and Windows are printing to and through the windows server, so this way I see and can control everything in the print queues.