Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

copying files failed, because you don't have permission to change your...

New day, new problem. I have tried to consolidate/move songs to external drive through itunes/library/organize/consolidate. At first it looks like everything is copying over and at the end I get an error message saying, "copying files failed, because you don't have permission to change your ITUNES media folder or a folder within it." does anybody know what that means and what to do. I am an administrator for the laptop so I should be able to do what I want in that regard.

macbook, Mac OS X (10.6.2)

Posted on May 28, 2010 9:29 AM

23 replies

May 28, 2010 9:35 AM in response to daduser

see your other thread 😉

Jolly Giant wrote:
daduser wrote:
"copying files failed, because you don't have permission to change your ITUNES media folder or a folder within it."

check if you have read & write permissions for your iTunes music (or media) folder. in finder, right-click on it and +get info+. unlock the little padlock (you may have to enter your admin password) and change the permission settings. if permissions settings check out, click on the little gear-shaped icon and +apply to enclosed items+ like so

User uploaded file

now try consolidating again.

J GG

User uploaded file

Feb 1, 2012 6:55 AM in response to daduser

i found myself having the same problem after i wanted to copy my library to an external harddrive when suddenly my power cut off and the transfer was incomplete!

the problem was, that my library was partly on my mbp party on the hdd and i couldn't continue with the copyprocess.

"copying files failed, because you don't have permission to change your ITUNES media folder or a folder within it."

i found out that a lot of my mp3's weren't connected to its origin (mainly the oldest ones),

my itunes library file was corrupt!