Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

library losing photos...

I know this is a common topic on here but the situation I'm in is a little different. I'm an Apple Personal Trainer and was just training one of our members in iPhoto. She has two different libraries, the user folder library is 68gb, the library that resides on her external is 107gb.

I opened them both and they were fine (I wasn't sure because iPhoto tends to get a little wonky with HUGE libraries). My student then unplugged the FW hdd that her 107gb library was on, without ejecting it. The message came up and everything and I used the record player analogy and explained why you couldn't do that.

Sooo, I then plugged it back in, option started iPhoto, and selected the 107gb library. it opened up with 28gb of photos only. It appears to all be fine and functional except for the lack of three quarters of the photos that were originally in it. The library itself is still 107gb. I showed the package contents and got the info for the originals folder and it was still 91gb. So the photos are there, they just aren't showing up.

I cmd-opt started iPhoto and rebuilt everything (took three hours) and it still doesn't work. Any help or advice anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

iMac 3.06ghz, Mac OS X (10.5.7)

Posted on Jun 9, 2010 12:47 PM

2 replies

Jun 9, 2010 1:23 PM in response to JayhawkCWE

SOmetimes an improper disconnect of the external drive causes a phantom drive to be created - properly unmount and disconnect the external drive and in the finder under the GO menu ==> go to folder /Volumes -- there probably is a folder with the name of the external drive - drag it to the desktop and reconnect the external drive and restart - see if option launching iPhoto will now let you access the real library

If it does and everything is ok you can delete the folder from the desktop

LN