Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Inserting Curly brackets as shapes

Hi,

I am new to Keynote, so my question may actually have a very simple solution. So my problem is that I cannot find how I can insert a curly bracket ({ or }) as a shape (not as a special character in a text box) in my presentations (so that i can resize and edit them as shapes)?
In powerpoint, i could have done this just by going to the shapes menu and adding it. It seems that the predefined shapes in Keynote is much much more limited than powerpoint--is that true or am I missing something?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Best,

Nina

Mac OS X (10.6.3)

Posted on Jun 10, 2010 12:03 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 3, 2010 1:18 PM

You may have figured this out already using the other program suggested above, but you are able to do this without downloading anything else just using Keynote and Preview.

Make two text boxes and enter the { } each in their own box. Then select one of them and copy. Open Preview and File>New from Clipboard +(or command n)+. Then you can copy that and paste back into Keynote, or if you use them a lot, save as a .pdf or .png (to keep the transparency) and save to your hard drive.
7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 3, 2010 1:18 PM in response to hi_nina

You may have figured this out already using the other program suggested above, but you are able to do this without downloading anything else just using Keynote and Preview.

Make two text boxes and enter the { } each in their own box. Then select one of them and copy. Open Preview and File>New from Clipboard +(or command n)+. Then you can copy that and paste back into Keynote, or if you use them a lot, save as a .pdf or .png (to keep the transparency) and save to your hard drive.

Jun 10, 2010 5:08 PM in response to hi_nina

You are correct, the shapes in Keynote are much more limited than they are in Powerpoint.