Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPad will not connect at Denver airport (DIAFREEWIFI)

Just got my iPad and this is my first time through the Denver airport with it. I'm finding that the iPad will not connect to the DIAFREEWIFI access point (the one I'm connected to right now with my Macbook). I can connect to this access point with my iPod, my Android G1, and my Macbook. However the iPad refuses to connect simply returning an "Unable to join the network" message. Signal strength is 2 out of 3 bars, I've tried this from both the A and B terminals. I can't believe I'm the first one to try joining this network with an iPad so there has to be something up. I've tried:

- Power off the iPad and restart
- Select "reset network settings"

I can join any of the various other wifi networks here (Den-ipass as well as the various airline, lounge networks). Unfortunately, you need a subscription to use those so joining is not much good.

I have the latest iTunes (9.2) and the iPad is version 3.2.

Is there anything else I can try? Taking this to an Apple store seems like a waste of time since they won't be able to reproduce this problem unless they're at the Denver airport.

Any help would be appreciated!

Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Jun 18, 2010 7:39 PM

15 replies

Aug 4, 2010 11:20 AM in response to atatistcheff99

I am at DIA today and am having the same problem. I have connected my iPad to almost every WIFI network I have encountered and it has worked fine. Here i get "Unable to join the network'DIAFREEWIFI'".

I called DIAFREEWIFI tech support line and they told me it was an Apple software issue. I know that is not the case, but it is what they tell people. My MacBookPro and Blackberry have no problems connecting.

My guess is they can not force the advertising pane to the top of the iPad's browser window, so they simply block iPads.

I would love to know the real reason and how to fix it.