Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

convert number to percentage

Hi, I am sure there is a very simple way to do this but I still new to the world of spreadsheets!

I am a teacher and would like to be able to convert the marks students got for different units that all have different max totals to see what they equate to as %.

E.g. in the example shown, I would like to be able to convert each student's mark out of 140 into a percentage.

I would also like to be able to do this for different units (e.g. the TV/Music 30 mark and Comp 2 Total out of 60 columns

Is anyone able to help?

Many thanks in advance as always,

Greg

MacBook Air (2018 or later)

Posted on Jan 23, 2019 8:28 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Jan 23, 2019 9:26 AM

Well, in general, percent means "out of 100".

so to get the percentage, you divide the part by the whole.

Set up your table so the first two rows are header rows (like shown above)

Then enter the information in the first two rows as shown above

select cell E1 and enter the formula

=SUM(A1:D1)

short and for this is:

E1=SUM(A1:D1)

E3=SUM(A3:D3)

to fill this down, select cell E3, copy

select cells E3 thru the end of column E, paste

To calculate the percent,

F3=E3/E$1

select cell F3 and open the cell formatter to change to Percent with two digits (or how ever many you want):

select cell F3, copy

select cells F3 thru the end of column F, paste

3 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Jan 23, 2019 9:26 AM in response to KippMajors78

Well, in general, percent means "out of 100".

so to get the percentage, you divide the part by the whole.

Set up your table so the first two rows are header rows (like shown above)

Then enter the information in the first two rows as shown above

select cell E1 and enter the formula

=SUM(A1:D1)

short and for this is:

E1=SUM(A1:D1)

E3=SUM(A3:D3)

to fill this down, select cell E3, copy