Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

macOS Mojave Battery Life

I have been using this OS since a couple months ago not since the released of it. I thought the dark mode feature will help my battery life but i guess I'm wrong. I realised that my MacBook Pro Mid 2012 don't have the needed screen to help the dark mode turn off my pixels completely but I'm still wondering why does dark pixels doesn't help my battery life?

The thing is I really hate my battery life with this OS, I usually use Safari and Xcode at the same time for 4 hours and I still have 30% battery remaining while now i do the same thing and my battery ran out after 3 hours of usage.

I just want an advice that may help my battery life considering this is an old MacBook Pro too, I also tried downgrading (which isn't recommended) but i refused to do it after knowing that it will erase my whole data (Not risking doing it even with my backed up data).

Hopefully I can get some advices regarding my battery life, thanks.

MacBook Pro 13", 10.14

Posted on Feb 17, 2019 12:20 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 18, 2019 7:44 AM

Please read About Mac notebook batteries.

"Dark Mode" is specifically designed for OLED displays, which your MacBook Pro does not have. An LED backlit LCD's power consumption is exactly the opposite of OLED in that regard: a pixel that's "off" is actually blocking the LED light transmission that is always "on". That Mojave feature is either intended for iOS consistency, or in anticipation of future OLED Mac displays.

The only way to minimize your MacBook Pro's display power consumption is to reduce its brightness. Relatively dark or light images makes little difference.

The most likely explanation is that a seven (approximately) year old battery is simply worn out.

Similar questions

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 18, 2019 7:44 AM in response to snoopysneepy