Newsroom Update

New features come to Apple services this fall. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

2019 Apple Photos or alternative image catalog and editor

I am an amateur photographer who takes lots of family, travel and life pictures. I need a new image processing/editor. I have researched many programs and these are my favorites right now—Affinity Photo (AP), digiKam, Mylio with AP or DxO. I have used Adobe Elements and it crashes on my Mac (always has) so I have not uploaded pictures from my SD card in awhile. My old workflow (10K+ images) was to upload to files on my hard drive, organize by year, month and event. I take RAW and jpegs on a Lumix G9. I also take pictures on my iPhone so those are in Photos. I'm afraid of combining all images into Photos b/c I'm afraid of the ramifications of having a large catalog and slowing it down. I'm also afraid of losing the organization that I'm used too. HELP! I need to make a decision, move on and clean this mess up! Would you go with Apple Photos and use DxO/AP as your editor? I know they work together. Or am I correct in being hesitant about putting all my images in Photos and use one of the other image organizers/DAMs. I do like to search on events, people, favorite images, travel, etc. I want to be able to share my images. I'm adept at learning software so not shy there.

Posted on Mar 13, 2019 8:29 AM

Similar questions

15 replies

Mar 16, 2019 1:41 AM in response to m1andrews

Why do you use both Aurora HDR and Luminar 3? Are there specific functions that you like in each? I read about DxO—it was recommended in an article to use with Photos app.

Aurora HDR and Luminar support different things.

• Aurora HDR 2019 can combine exposure brackets into HDR photos and has many presets for acne types. But I am limited to the presets for the adjustments. I cannot add filters individually. And the retouch tool is missing.