Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I create a Venn diagram in Numbers (iOS)?

I am a high school teacher looking to create a Venn diagram in real time in Numbers (iOS).

I want to compare two or three columns of text, identify common terms, and graph them.

***(I am not interested in a method of drawing and populating the circles myself, as I know how to do that. I want to enter the text and have the diagram appear on screen for the students.)

I found this method of comparing columns of text and identifying identical terms in different columns https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4266599

That's a start. See first attached image.

(Why the "s" appears, I don't know. I would like the result under "Common" to be the common term... ie. "fruit", "tree", "juice" rather than "Dup in Row #". )

What I would like is to have the data in the colums populate circles and to be sorted as belonging to Circle A, B, or Both, as below:

Any suggestions?

I'm hoping to find a solution that will work across platforms as the students typically use Chromebooks rather than iPads.

Many thanks.

iPad Pro, iOS 12

Posted on Mar 14, 2019 8:09 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 17, 2019 8:33 AM

so you are looking in column A for that row, and bringing back what row in column B has a match, if any.

There are a few ways to do what your asking, here is one that I think is the simplest to understand when I was starting with this kind of thing.

In the formula below we concatenation th letter B with the results of the match to bring back the string “B5”. Which is where we found the word juice in column B for row 7 in A. But a formula cannot use a string “B5” it needs the cell reference B5. So we throw that entire concatenation into the indirect function. Indirect converts a string that “looks” like a cell reference and converts t into a real one That number can use.