Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sound Library - HELP! additional content always needed!

Help - I've been using Logic for many years (since about Logic 5!) and Logic Pro X for a couple of years. Recently I found that the Sound Library was taking up too much of my laptop memory, so for the first time moved it (from within the workspace) to an external drive.

Since then, every time I start Logic I need to download additional content. This is despite having the full sound library already downloaded.

In the sound library manager I can see that there is nothing more to be downloaded; however when some instruments in my project don't play, I look in the sound library for that particular track, and I discover loads of samples with the circle and download arrow meaning that they can't be found and the project thinks they need to be downloaded AGAIN.

This is happening with every project, every day, with every restart of Logic, and it's driving me nuts.

Does anyone have any idea how to make Logic see that these downloads already exist?

I figured I might move the sound library back to my laptop hard disk, because I never had any issues there. But even though I have 80GB free space on the laptop, Logic is telling me I have only 44GB, so I can't do that apparently.

Anyone? Help! Please!

PB

MacBook Pro 15", macOS 10.14

Posted on May 24, 2019 9:16 AM

Similar questions

8 replies

May 25, 2019 12:14 PM in response to PABoy

Ah, yeah, I've not dealt with this in awhile, but it just hit me. You can put it all on external drive, but not with an alias. Very unstable. Go here and ready about how to move your Library without using an Alias and having much better stability.

https://help.apple.com/logicpro/mac/10.4/#/lgcpf77e757d

Relocate the Sound Library

Choose Logic Pro > Sound Library > Relocate Sound Library.