Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I am a college student; can I apply for the Apple Card?

I am a college student, can I apply for the apple card?

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iPhone XS Max

Posted on Aug 20, 2019 1:07 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 20, 2019 2:16 PM

Honestly as a student with minimal income you most likely will end up with their highest interest rate of 23.99%. Don't get the Apple Card just because it's Apple. You may want to look at getting a card through your local bank with a low credit limit and see if you can negotiate a better rate.

19 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 20, 2019 2:16 PM in response to Keyyyy

Honestly as a student with minimal income you most likely will end up with their highest interest rate of 23.99%. Don't get the Apple Card just because it's Apple. You may want to look at getting a card through your local bank with a low credit limit and see if you can negotiate a better rate.

Aug 20, 2019 3:01 PM in response to Kappy

Lets try it again, interest rate is only applied if you are late on the full amount due for that period. Or you pay less than the full amount you need to pay for that period.

Yes, you can pay less than the full amount due, and that would apply interest on what you did not pay and had to pay.

As long as you are able to pay the full amount due when its due, interest is not applied.

The only way to learn to manage a credit card, is to have one. Shying away from one that actually has no other fees, and offers an easy way to manage does not help at all.

I do not teach personal finance nor plan to. But basic economics indicate that learning to manage a credit card is a necessary skill. Why shy away? Spend based on what you can pay for the month, and don't use it as a bottomless source of money