Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

NTFS support

Hi, I'm using a MacBook Pro, running OS X 14.16, Mojave. I'm new to Mac.

I have an external on which I kept a lot of my files, and used with my windows computer. I'm confused/stunned that there's no native support to write files to that drive from my Mac. I wanted to ask for sure if that was still the case--it presents a problem if I can't use this drive, write to it, etc.

Is there anyway I can write to this hard drive without having to reformat it and lose everything on it? And is there someway that I don't have to pay for a third party software to do the writing to the drive?

Thanks for your help.

MacBook

Posted on Aug 28, 2019 12:45 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 17, 2019 6:38 PM

Hi, when I was new to Mac I met the same problem. And here is how i did:

1. Download a NTFS for Mac driver. What I am using is iBoysoft Drive Manager (https://iboysoft.com/mac-drive-manager/). It Provides 7-days free trial. But I purchased it after 7 days as I found it works like a charm.
  2. During the 7-days free trial, you can fully access your NTFS drive on Mac natively. So, you can have a backup of your files on this drive. copy-paste your files to another drive or whatever.
  3. After you have backupped your files on this drive, you can go ahead to Disk Utility to reformat it as FAT or exFAT (both of them will work for your Mac and Windows)

if you don't know how to perform these operation, I personally would recommend the article (https://iboysoft.com/ntfs-for-mac/how-to-solve-external-hard-drive-read-only-mac-without-formatting.html ) written by iBoysoft to you which covers everything in detail.

Also, if you don't worry about data loss, you can reformat it directly, or you can search for some information about "Apple macOS experimental native NTFS support"

10 replies
Question marked as Best reply