Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Error code: 92

Hey,

So I tried backing up my computer with Time Machine. I have an external harddrive that connects to my Mac Air via USB. I'm getting an "Error code: 92" whenever I try to back it up. I don't know anything about error codes at all. I safely disconnected my drive and restarted and it's still the same error message. Any suggestions? Please state the steps as clearly as you can. I'm a complete newb.

Thanks

MacBook Air 11", macOS 10.15

Posted on Oct 21, 2019 8:38 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 10, 2019 1:42 AM

I had the same problem after upgrading to MacOS Catalina (10.15.1)

I do my backups to a Synology NAS via Wifi without problem. After upgrading to Catalina the first backup was OK, but after all I got the "Error code: 92" message. The next backups were unsuccessful.

I have solved the problem this way:

• Login to Terminal with administrator rights.

• List local Time Machine backups with this command:

tmutil listlocalsnapshots /

• Delete local backups:

tmutil deletelocalsnapshots /

After all the next backup was successful!

I hope it helps!

Similar questions

13 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 10, 2019 1:42 AM in response to ErrorCode92

I had the same problem after upgrading to MacOS Catalina (10.15.1)

I do my backups to a Synology NAS via Wifi without problem. After upgrading to Catalina the first backup was OK, but after all I got the "Error code: 92" message. The next backups were unsuccessful.

I have solved the problem this way:

• Login to Terminal with administrator rights.

• List local Time Machine backups with this command:

tmutil listlocalsnapshots /

• Delete local backups:

tmutil deletelocalsnapshots /

After all the next backup was successful!

I hope it helps!

Oct 30, 2019 4:38 PM in response to brenden dv