Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What is sh and why is it asking for access to all my keystrokes across all apps after Catalina upgrade?

Hi. Thanks for reading and any possible replies in advance.

Some people don't understand that I do appreciate their replies, so I ask you to accept that I must be an a-hole in the way I reply because I am detail oriented. Sorry, it's my problem as an artist, I am very detail oriented, and the fault is all mine.

The issue is something where because my son cracked the screen (right bottom corner) he has a new MacBook Pro and am just returning to the Mac. Because it was new to me and I like to stay up-to-date, I upgraded to MacOS X Catalina on our mid 2015 i7 15" MacBook Pro.

I was really surprised after the upgrade to find the Firewall turned off, I did turn it on.

But after I had upgraded to Catalina, and just before I turned the Firewall on, I get a message that sh wants system wide access to my keystrokes even when I am using another app.

What is sh? A shell? Why would it ever need access to any app? Is this someone who pinged my son, found an open firewall and screwed with the shell and added a key logger?

Not real sure of anything, but I definitely want to secure this thing. Not happy my son did not.

That said, I thank you for reading any replies addressing this situation.

Posted on Oct 29, 2019 8:06 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 29, 2019 8:37 PM

"sh" is a shorthand for "bash" which is the standard shell used by Unix. However, I do not know why what you described happened after installing Catalina. In fact, I have never heard of that happening after installing any version of macOS.