Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

questions, set up, connecting client computers to server

I am a novice.

I have a small business (dental office) with 11 macs (and 4 at home). Up until recently my network has consisted of stand alone macs and I use file sharing, screen sharing, etc. to do basic network stuff.

As our database grows, I need a more sophisticated network.

I have recently employed some network people to set up Snow Leopard Server. However, they are experts with *_windows server_* networks and have never set up a mac network. There isn't anyone local that I can find who has ever set up a mac network.

So, we began the "easy" set up today and our heads are spinning.

The server seemed to set up correctly, but when it comes to connecting the exisiting client computers to the server, we haven't had much luck and there doesn't seem to be any clear guidance on this.

My assumption is that I should be able to set up users on the server that could then log in on any of the client computers and their preferences, desktop, etc. would appear before them, no matter what computer they were on in the office.

Am I correct in that assumption?

If so, where can we go to find the help we need to get this set up correctly?

Obviously it would be better for them to be asking these questions, since they know the vocabulary and the technical stuff.