Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Dolby Vision issues on Apple TV 4K

I have been enjoying Dolby Vision on my Apple TV 4K for several months now and have invested in several Dolby Vision films from the Apple store, until recently I have had no problems and the picture quality of the dolby vision playback has been superb from all sources such as Apple, Netflix and Amazon prime. Unfortunately when I try to view anything in Dolby Vision now it is ok on the bright scenes but when it switches to a dark scene it is like watching a photographic negative making using this format unusable. I can confirm I am using the recommended Belkin high speed cable have done a complete reset of the box twice and it has re-downloaded the software I have also followed all other procedures to eliminate any equipment in line faults to no avail. I can confirm when the TV app is used for programs such as Netflix I have no problem and I have recently purchased an Amazon fire TV cube this plays back Dolby Vision perfectly can anybody shed any light on this fault and as to why this has just started happening and yes I do know I can switch it to HDR to stop this fault. If there is no solution to get rid of this fault I will be looking to get a full refund as I think my unit is still in warranty. Thanks for any info or help.

Apple TV 4K, tvOS 12

Posted on Dec 29, 2019 2:39 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 29, 2019 4:58 PM

Hello,

I suggest that you reach out to Apple for assistance.

Contact AppleCare

Similar questions

7 replies

Jan 26, 2020 1:02 PM in response to rpond