Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"other" Storage on ipad pro

Hi. I hope someone can help me.

4 weeks ago I bought my first ipad pro (512Gb).

I'm a Photographer and bought it for my workflow when I'm not home.

Now I put a lot of Photos om my ipad, on it, edited them in lightroom, and then Exporte and erased them on "on my ipad".

Now I have only 131 GB left, although I erased the pictures.

I guess the ipad made copies of them internally, and called them "other storage".

How can I get rid of it? Can anyone please help??

iPad Pro, iOS 13

Posted on Jan 9, 2020 5:35 AM

5 replies

Jan 9, 2020 6:24 AM in response to PeterSchmitz

Lightroom maintains its own “Local Storage” which is a separate container from iPad Photos. Material can be imported, manipulated - and then exported back to the iPad Photos album.

Deletion from iPad Photos does not delete the Lightroom storage space - which your screenshot suggests consumes a significant proportion of your total storage space. The “other” category includes all non-system data cached/stored in App private storage - including Lightroom’s Local Storage.

If you need to recover storage from Lightroom, you will need to delete photos from the Lightroom Local Storage folder - within the Lightroom App itself. This storage area are cannot be deleted from iPad settings - or directly accessed from the iPad Photos App.

I hope this is helpful in resolving the problem.

Jan 9, 2020 6:27 AM in response to LotusPilot

Thanks for the fast response. I never Imported/exported them to ipad Photos, so I didn't delete them there. I always imported/exported from and to the internal files om my ipad.