Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Do you think the 20-80% rule is as effective as people say to extend your battery life? I'll share my story for more insight.

The 20-80% rule implies if you keep your phone's battery always between 20-80%, it will drastically increase your phone battery's life span. This is due to many reasons, but I'm not technical enough to explain these. This is what Apple did with iOS 13 (or so I believe, I'm still rocking iOS 12).

Moving forward, let's give you some detail:

On February 2, 2019, my battery was replaced for my iPhone 6S. Afterwards, I purchased an external battery case to keep my battery as close to the 20-80% as I could, with only maybe 5 times (yes, that is an actual number) where I went over the 80% because I forgot to turn off my battery case. It stayed at 100% for quite some time, and the numbers I list below are only known because I check my battery health frequently and take screenshots of said screen.

1. To clarify again, on February 2, 2019 my battery health stated 100% (as it was just replaced at an Apple store.)
  2. On December 5, 2019, it showed to be at 99%.
  3. On December 20, 2019, it showed 98%.
  4. As of today (January 16, 2019), it now shows 97%.

I can also add that my wife bought an iPhone 7 Plus on March 21, 2019, and it is currently sitting at 92%. She leaves her device plugged in every night, lets it die, and doesn't care about trying to extend the battery as long as she possibly can.

I'm not meaning to sound upset, because I'm not. My battery had lasted 9 months before dropping a single percent.... however, since then, its dropped another 2% in just over a month (or 42 days ago). My methods remained the same (keeping the battery between 20-80%, never letting it die, only letting it go over 80% once, and never under 20%), so what created the extra 2% decrease?