Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacPro screen pink lines and loss of area over tool bar

MacBook Pro is less than six months old. There is a small area of damage on the black surround which just appeared. The laptop has not been dropped. The area just crumbled away as I cleaned the machine.

I now have flashing horizontal lines over the Toolbar and vertical pink lines on the right hadn't side. I have been told that I must have closed the machine when there was something obstructing the closure. I have no knowledge I am told that the machine will nor be covered under the Warranty and repair will cost c £750.

I am astounded at the cost and, if I do pay to have the laptop fixed, the same thing could happen in another few months time. Any advice would. be appreciated.

MacBook Pro 13", macOS 10.14

Posted on Jan 29, 2020 11:04 AM

5 replies

Jan 29, 2020 12:31 PM in response to Cerura

Cerura wrote:

Thank you Leroy. I tried this a couple of times but, unfortunately, nothing happened.

I do appreciate you replying.

You do not say what exact Mac /model /year /size /retina /touchbar is this ?

however:

— flashing horizontal lines over the Toolbar and vertical pink lines on the right hadn't side.

—small area of damage on the black surround

I would take it in for a hardware issue while you are under the 1-year warranty.

In or out of warranty you can get a free over the counter 'Apple Service Diagnostics' test /assessment

Make an appointment for a "hardware issue"—

https://www.apple.com/retail/geniusbar/

Outside the USA

https://locate.apple.com/country

From iOS device using the app to make a online Genius Bar appointment: 

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/apple-support/id1130498044?mt=8

Jan 29, 2020 1:14 PM in response to leroydouglas

Hi Leroy,

MacBookPro 13inch 219 Two Thunderbolt (three ports)

1.4 GHz Intel Core i5

8GB2133MHz LPDDR3

Intel Iris Plus Graphics 645 1536MB