Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

reply comes from wrong account; "reply all" doesn't + outgoing server probs

Hi - I am having major headaches with Mail and after reading the forum for an hour I still haven't been able to find anything that works for my problems:

I got so tired of deleting emails on multiple (iPhone, iPad) devices, that I deleted my POP accounts in Mail and set them up as IMAP. I have some experience with IMAP, which works perfectly on two accounts I've had for a year. These accounts are @mydomain.com accounts, so setting up my other email accounts under that domain was simple. I just reproduced the same settings.

Setting up my 2 Comcast email accounts was a little more involved; I had to open 2 Gmail accounts and have the Comcast mail forwarded to those Gmail accounts. I then set Gmail to always send from the Comcast address. All of that appears to be working fine; I'm receiving email and when I send replies out from my Gmail inbox, it appears to come from the Comcast address.

The problems I'm having with Apple Mail are as follows:

- "reply all" doesn't work; it only sends the reply to the first address on the list.

- when I hit reply, mail sends from the wrong email account - this seems random.

- when I select "use only this server" for outgoing mail, then I get error messages when trying to send, and am unable to send mail.

- when I DEselect "use only this server" for outgoing mail, then I can send email out, but none of the other problems are solved (I read in another thread that this might be a solution, but it didn't work for me).

Connection Doctor shows all servers are active, working and have a "green light".