Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"Can't download the additional components needed to instal Mac OS X"

I'm new to the MacBook scene so I decided to start small. So I bought a perfectly good Macbook Pro from late 2011. I checked it out, it looked okay. I tried factory resetting by clearing the disks in disk utility and then I tried to reinstall Mac OS X Lion, which, I'm guessing, came with the system. I go through, agree, choose which drive to install on, and it works...momentarily.

After a few minutes or less, it tells me that it "Can;t download the additional componenets needed to install Mac OS X for no reason. So, now I'm stuck with a pretty much bricked macbook and I don't know what to do.

Regular booting just brings me to a flashing folder with a question mark, which means the macbook can't find an OS or something.

MacBook Pro

Posted on Feb 8, 2020 8:05 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 8, 2020 8:23 PM

Here's what you need to do. You must have the computer connected to the Internet either using Wi-Fi or Ethernet.

Internet/Network Recovery of El Capitan or Later on a Clean Disk

If possible back up your files before proceeding.

1. Restart the computer. Immediately after the chime hold down the (Command-Option-Shift-R) keys until a globe appears.
  2. The Utility Menu will appear in from 5-20 minutes. Be patient.
  3. Select Disk Utility and click on the Continue button.
  4. When Disk Utility loads select the target drive (will be the out-dented entry) from the side list.
  5. Click on the Erase button in Disk Utility's toolbar. A panel will drop down.
  6. Set the partition scheme to GUID.