You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Failed logic board for almost new MacBook Air

I am a student and I bought a brand new MacBook air 1 year and 4 months ago. This week, it stopped working completely for no apparent reason at all and I took it into a Mac repair shop who told me that the logic board had failed and it would cost 500£ to repair (more than half the price I payed for the computer from the apple website). The warrantee for the computer expired after 1 year, and 4 months after this my practically new laptop failed for no good reason. My entire dissertation is on that laptop and even though the repair shop told me there was a 90% change that by installing a new logic board, I would be able to access all of my documents, the idea as a student of paying £500 to fix a laptop I bought brand new so recently seems ridiculous. Has anyone else had problems with logic board failures on relatively new Macs without having damaged them in anyway? I know a few people and if this is a common problem Apple really needs to fix their logic boards and their 'susceptibility to damage'.

MacBook

Posted on Mar 23, 2020 4:45 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Mar 23, 2020 4:53 AM