Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Choppy Playback in iMovie 10.1.14

I use a 2017 MacBook Pro 13-inch. I recently updated to iMovie 10.1.14 and have been experiencing extremely choppy playback. The clips are from the same camera I've been using for the past 5 years - a Sony HDR-CX670, which never had any problems in the past. I'm experiencing the problem with both newer videos as well as older clips that played smoothly in older versions of iMovie.

I've tried starting up in safe mode, then rebooting. It didn't help.

I've updated to macOS Catalina 10.15.4, but the problem persists.

I have 38 GB of storage left. The video clips are all less than 3 minutes in length, dimensions are 1920x1080, and codecs are H.264, AAC.

This is causing a major headache for me and I am now wondering if I should find other video-editing software to use instead. I would prefer to continue with iMovie if I can figure out how to fix this problem.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated!

MacBook Pro 13", macOS 10.15

Posted on Apr 6, 2020 6:51 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 6, 2020 10:43 AM

It could be that your clips are shot in a lower frame rate than your project. Take a look at this thread for a list of things that can cause choppiness in playback:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251227411

-- Rich

Similar questions

5 replies

Apr 7, 2020 11:04 AM in response to evan_desu