Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Permissions for backing up Library folder

Since Time Machine has a bad habit of deciding on its own to trash all its backups and start over, I try to keep another backup in addition to TM, by backing up Applications, Library, and Users.

The Library folder is a tough nut; the backup attempts routinely crash because of Permissions issues.

Seems to me the fix is to change the Permissions to at least Read Only, but as an Administrator, I don't have permission to change the Permissions.

None of this makes any sense to me. What possible harm can come from reading/copying these files, mostly plists? What am I missing?

MacBook

Posted on May 8, 2020 5:23 PM

Similar questions

13 replies

May 13, 2020 8:27 AM in response to Barney-15E

Thanks, Barney-15E. Just saw this this AM; sorry for the delay.

Trying to copy the Users/user/Library folder. The Permissions do allow read only. I have a query posted to the NAS users forum, asking for help from that end, but no response so far.

This stuff shouldn't be this complicated! It's a simple project on which I have literally spent weeks, fighting little things like this.

May 13, 2020 9:15 AM in response to whartonw3

Home folder items generally are set to be no access to others, and read to the particular user.

What user is running the backup software? It should run with that user's permissions, so shouldn't run into problems.

If you are trying to back up other user's folders, you might need to run the backup from an admin account or root, if you can make it do that. The backup program should be able to elevate its permissions to backup whatever you need.

An administrator should be able to change the permissions in the home folder, so I don't understand why you are having a problem.

Do you have the backup program in the Full Disk Access Privacy area? Security & Privacy System Prefs > Privacy.