Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iTunes Music Folder inside iTunes Library

Hi

I have been using iTunes for many years and initially ripped my CD’s into my iTunes Library. I also purchase and download music from Apple.

This was never an issue, but now when I sync my iPhone or iPad to my iMac, the ripped music isn’t transferred over, though it can be seen and played on my iMac. I noticed that in the iTunes preferences The iTunes Media folder location is shown as /user/myname/music/iTunes Library/iTunes Music.

When I look at the folders, my iTunes Music folder, is inside my iTunes Library folder. With nearly most of the my music shown in both folders, though not all of it. How do I get my ripped music onto my iPhone and iPad? Should I have two lots of music, if not which folder should I make sue my music is located in Library or Music. And once I have made sure every thing is in one place, can I delete the duplicates?

For information I am using 10.12.6 Sierra on my iMac.

Thanks

Posted on May 31, 2020 7:40 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 7, 2020 7:01 AM

You're welcome. 🙂

Looking good from what I can see. Yes, you should be able to sync your devices with selected playlists. If that doesn't give the expected results try iTunes > Preferences > Devices > Reset Sync History.

tt2

Similar questions

11 replies

May 31, 2020 8:26 AM in response to Minty01