Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Reinstalling Operating System From Big Sur

Hello!

Last Month, my iMac crashed. They replaced the hard drive, so it was like having a new computer. When I set up my computer, I opted in to use the Big Sur Beta versions. I liked the features on Big Sur, but I have a big problem.

PROBLEM: I am a photographer. I downloaded some editing software specifically from a company called Topaz Labs. Unfortunately, the suite of programs that I downloaded from them...they do not support Big Sur. But, I believe that they support the prior version of the Mac OS.

QUESTION: Is it possible to Uninstall Big Sur. THEN, reinstall the Mac OS prior to Big Sur on my computer. AND, is it possible to do this without losing my data? I am also doing backups on an external drive thru Time Machine.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Dale

iMac 27″, macOS 10.16

Posted on Jul 12, 2020 12:59 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 12, 2020 1:33 AM

If you want to install other versions of macOS then please follow these steps (How to reinstall macOS from macOS Recovery – Apple Support)

CORRECTION

Please hold command-option-r to reinstall the latest macOS compatible with your mac or shift-option-command-r to reinstall the operating system version your iMac came with.

Sorry for the confusion

Similar questions

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 12, 2020 1:33 AM in response to Person_2099

If you want to install other versions of macOS then please follow these steps (How to reinstall macOS from macOS Recovery – Apple Support)

CORRECTION

Please hold command-option-r to reinstall the latest macOS compatible with your mac or shift-option-command-r to reinstall the operating system version your iMac came with.

Sorry for the confusion

Jul 12, 2020 1:30 AM in response to DALE31