Newsroom Update

Apple Music today announced the release of its 100 Best Albums of all time, a list crafted by Apple Music’s experts alongside industry professionals. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to: Importing Multi-CD, Multi-Tracks, Change to MP3 & Store as Audio Book

I've looked on-line at various forums and haven't found a complete answer, or one that works. I have an audio-book on CDs. I'd like to import them into itunes, convert them to MP3, join the tracks and then store as a single book in the audio books library. I'm using itunes 12.9.1.4.

I looked at forums and various videos, but none of them seem to work, and they all lack completeness.

Thanks!

Posted on Aug 2, 2020 4:14 PM

6 replies

Aug 3, 2020 11:15 AM in response to User_Prime

I'm not an expert on audiobooks (the few I've got are not set up perfectly, but only because it's not that important to me), but here are some of the points that you need to consider:

• You do not import the CD and then convert the tracks, instead you set iTunes to import to the format you want. See the next point
  • set your iTunes to rip (at import time) from the CD as MP3. Look on iTunes' top bar menu for Edit - and select Edit/Preferences/General (1. in the screenshot below). Towards the bottom of the General tab you will see When you insert a CD (2.) and Import Settings (3.)
    • set When you insert a CD: to Show CD (2.) This will allow you to join the tracks before importing them (more detail below)
    • set Import Settings/Import Using to MP3 (3.) and choose the quality in setting below that (see the screenshot). If the audiobook is only speech (with atmospheric music), you can use 128Kbps in Setting. You are unlikely to notice any improvement in quality by using a higher setting than 128Kbps, but you will use up unnecessary storage space if you do

That's the settings sorted out.

When importing the CD: