Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

Saving Templates

4791 Views 17 Replies Latest reply: Jul 24, 2010 2:11 PM by singerdf RSS
1 2 Previous Next
singerdf Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
Currently Being Moderated
Jul 23, 2010 6:37 PM
I am new to Pages. I was playing around today with an existing template and made some changes. When trying to save it, it would tell me it could not be exported. I am not sure why it would be exported rather than saved as a template. So I tried various names and even a very simple template which started as a blank sheet. No luck.

If I am missing something, I am eager to learn. I have downloaded the pdf manual from Apple and will work my way through all 250 pages. I have read the templates section and cannot find my error.

Any help would be wonderful.

Debbie
iMac Intel, Mac OS X (10.6.4)
  • John Bertram Level 1 Level 1 (125 points)
    Jul 24, 2010 6:13 AM (in response to singerdf)
    Just to confirm:

When you try to save it, are you selecting "Save as Template..." from under the File Menu? (As opposed to a Shift-Cmd-S "Save As...", or some other option)

John B.
    Toronto
    Mac Pro, 8-core 2.8GHz; 10 GB; GeForce 8800, Mac OS X (10.6.4), Mac user since 1990 (starting on a sleek SE/30)
  • John Bertram Level 1 Level 1 (125 points)
    Jul 24, 2010 6:32 AM (in response to singerdf)
    Like I said, just wanted to confirm. No offence intended.

I've tried to re-create the problem you describe and can't get it to happen on my machine -- hopefully someone else has encountered, and solved, the issue you're having.

Sorry I couldn't help.
    Mac Pro, 8-core 2.8GHz; 10 GB; GeForce 8800, Mac OS X (10.6.4), Mac user since 1990 (starting on a sleek SE/30)
  • Walt K Level 4 Level 4 (2,895 points)
    Jul 24, 2010 9:24 AM (in response to singerdf)
    Do you still have it? Can you save it as a regular file?

Walt
    iMac 24" 2.66 GHz, Mac OS X (10.5.8)
  • Walt K Level 4 Level 4 (2,895 points)