Newsroom Update

This fall, AirPods software updates will transform the way users respond to Siri, take calls, and immerse themselves in their favorite games. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

When I remove one of my AirPods the music pauses and does not start up again. I have to put it back in my ear to have the music start again.

I read where the If you remove one AirPod the music will momentarily pause and then start again with the remaining AirPod in the ear. However, when I remove one AirPod the music pauses and doesn’t start again until I put it back in my ear. Is something wrong with my AirPods or do I need to change a setting somewhere? This is my first time with AirPods. Thanks.

Posted on Oct 4, 2020 2:53 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 5, 2020 5:23 AM

If I have Automatic Ear Detection turned on, it states that if I remove just one AirPod it will momentarily pause and then resume in the remaining AirPod in my ear. That is not what happens with mine. If I remove one of two, it just stops playing and doesn’t resume. They only way I can get it To resume is if I have Automatic Ear Detection off. This seem to be different than what Apple says is supposed to happen.

2 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 5, 2020 5:23 AM in response to Johnathan Burger

If I have Automatic Ear Detection turned on, it states that if I remove just one AirPod it will momentarily pause and then resume in the remaining AirPod in my ear. That is not what happens with mine. If I remove one of two, it just stops playing and doesn’t resume. They only way I can get it To resume is if I have Automatic Ear Detection off. This seem to be different than what Apple says is supposed to happen.

Oct 4, 2020 8:44 PM in response to jimgolfer4

Turn Automatic Ear Detection on or off