Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Automator with Calendar

I am a novice at programing. I am trying to find a quick way to copy all events on a given day, which I can then paste into a different day. I am trying to use Automator to accomplish this, but it is giving an error at the copy step. What am I doing wrong?

Posted on Oct 5, 2020 4:34 PM

4 replies

Oct 6, 2020 12:45 AM in response to Mt. Fuji

You're going to have a really hard time doing this via Automator actions. It just doesn't have the hooks for it.

As you can see from the log, the actions you have are simply going to create a text-based list of events. You can't use this to create new events using Automator's New Calendar Event action, because the only input this action accepts is a list of contacts for the event. You have to specify the dates/times/etc. separately.

In any case, the clipboard is usually the last, and least preferable, way to automate anything. It's usually much better to go direct.

To do that, though, you're going to have to step outside of Automator actions and into AppleScript.

The following script should do what you describe (although there are many possible gotchas, so be careful running it on production data). It asks for a date to move from, finds those events, asks for a date to move to, does some quick calculations then updates the event to the new date

The comments should be self-explanatory, but feel free to ask if it isn't clear.

Oct 6, 2020 12:49 AM in response to Camelot

-- ask the user for FROM date
set d to display dialog "Move events from which date?" default answer (short date string of (get current date))
try
	-- did they supply a valid date?
	set eventDate to date (text returned of d)
on error
	--if not, bail
	display dialog "Invalid date specified" buttons "Cancel" default button 1
end try

-- calculate the start and end times of the day in question